Forum

Lightsaber sensor priority

More
1 month 1 week ago #634 by lornetw
lornetw created the topic: Lightsaber sensor priority
Hi everyone.

I bought a developer board and a project board with the idea of making a lightsaber project with my students (following the Instructables article) because I am a teacher in a trade school for CNC machinists.

The question I wanted to ask the forum : I wanted to know if were possible to assign a priority to one button over another (i.e. if 2 buttons are activated at the same time). Example : let's say I'm waving the lightsaber around which would be activated by a "swing" sensor (therefore playing the "swing" sound), and the "clash" (collision) sensor is activated. Ideally, it would temporarily stop playing the "swing" sound, play the "clash" sound and then go back to playing the "swing" sound (if the "swing" sensor is still activated). Or, if 2 sensors are activated at around the same time, be able give one switch priority (the "clash" sensor) and give it override priority over any other sensor switch.

I would appreciate any ideas.

If I can get this to work, I will submit my project to the forum.

Have a nice day.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 month 1 week ago #635 by foxonix
foxonix replied the topic: Lightsaber sensor priority
Hey lornetw:

There are a couple things you can do in the program to get the kind of response you're looking for. To make the clash sound effect the priority, you will want to lock out all the other inputs once the clash input is triggered. To see how this is done you can look at the sample program at this link:
foxonix.com/learn/sample-programs/99-simple-sfx-trigger